Our client is carrying out a series of works to the structures on the island of Tanera Mor in the Summer Isles group. We were engaged to bring our conservation experience to the restoration and refurbishment of the Herring Station, a B listed structure built around 1785 – 1791.
The Herring industry in Scotland had ended by 1824 and the building has been relatively unoccupied since then which has over time led to loss of the roof structures and a significant portion of the high level wall structure. A majority of the material ended up in and around the base of the structure concealing the original floor.
During a period between 1938-45 the site was in the ownership of Frank Fraser Darling, the English conservationist and ecologist who managed the building and removed a significant proportion of the high level of the building to stabilise the structure.
Our involvement on the project included carrying out a fabric condition survey, providing a specification for the consolidation of the structure and concept proposals for the development of the site. The works included consolidating the head of the walls, repairs to opening lintels and excavation of the ground down to the original brick floor.
We also worked on the planning application for the restoration of one of the ruined cottages on the island. The cottage was part of the Ardnagoine settlement to the North of the island and is the only cottage in the island to have evidence of cruck framed construction. Again the building had been derelict for a significant period of time and as a result is in very poor repair but there is evidence that the building had been extended and altered over time. Due to the condition of the structure it was decided to have the structure 3D surveyed to preserve a record of the building in its current state.
Structural Engineer: David Narro Associates
Civil Engineer: TBC
Quantity Surveyor: TBC